Interinstitutional Conference with National Parliaments on the FUTURE FINANCING OF THE EU

BRUSSELS, 7 - 8 SEPTEMBER 2016 EUROPEAN FARLIAMENT. József Antall Building. Room JAN 202

INTERINSTITUTIONAL CONFERENCE WITH NATIONAL PARLIAMENTS ON THE FUTURE FINANCING OF THE EUROPEAN UNION

Brussels, 7-8 September 2016 European Parliament, József Antall building, room JAN 2Q2

DRAFT AGENDA (version 14/07/2016)

Wednesday 7 September 2016

14h00 - Arrival at the European Parliament and registration

15h00 - Inaugural session

- Welcome address by Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament
- Presentation by Chairman Mario Monti of the work of the High Level Group on Own Resources

15h30-17h00 - The role of the EU budget

• Introduction by panel members

Mr Anne Mulder, Member of the Committee on EU Affairs, Netherlands House of Representatives

Mr Giorgio Tonini, Chair of the Committee on Budget, Italian Senate

Mr Daniel Dăianu, Member of the High Level Group

Ms Ingrida Šimonytė, Member of the High Level Group

• Open debate with participants

Interinstitutional Conference with National Parliaments on the FUTURE FINANCING OF THE EU

BRUSSELS, 7 - 8 SEPTEMBER 2016 EUROPEAN FARLIAMENT. József Antall Building. Room JAN 202

17h00-18h30 – New sources of revenue for the EU? What works and what should be changed?

- Introduction by panel members
 Mr Jörgen Andersson, Member of the Committee on Finance, Swedish Parliament
 Mr Joachim Poß, Member of the Committee on EU Affairs, German Bundestag
 Mr Ivailo Kalfin, Member of the High Level Group
 Mr Guy Verhofstadt, Member of the High Level Group
- Open debate with participants

19h00 – Walking dinner hosted by the President of the European Parliament (by invitation only) Espace Yehudi Menuhin, Paul-Henri Spaak Building

Thursday 8 September 2016

10h00-11h00 - Intervention by Vice President Kristalina Georgieva, followed by a debate with participants

11h00-12h30 – A better coherence between the EU and national budgets? How can we work better together?

- Introduction by panel members
 Ms Lolita Čigāne, Chair of the Committee on EU Affairs, Latvian Parliament
 Mr Rafał Trzaskowski, Deputy Chair of the Committee on EU Affairs, Polish Sejm
 Mr Clemens Fuest, Member of the High Level Group
 Mr Alain Lamassoure, Member of the High Level Group
- Open debate with participants

12h45-13h30 – Closing session in the presence of President Schulz, the Slovak Presidency of the Council, Commission President Juncker and Chairman Monti